A New Year of Unknowns

So here I am in the first hour or so of a new year, ripe with unknown possibilities, achievements, heartaches and disappointments.  I can only control so much of what’s possible.  I will strive to achieve my goals and, even if it’s by baby steps, any movement forward is better than the alternative.  I have goals of exceeding my output from the previous year if not in quantity, at least in quality. That’s about all I can do.  The rest is left in the hands of fate, luck, or some other generic cosmic deity that probably has me on the naughty list.

But what I can say with certainty is that I will spend the year as I spent tonight. With my best-friend, fiancee, favorite reader, and just all around favorite person. She motivates me to be better than I can be. Looking forward to another year with her by my side I find it hard to have doubts.  Behind every great man is a great woman. She’s meeting her end of the bargain, I just have to step up to mine.

Time to be great.

Leave a Reply

