The GOASTT of John Lennon

My SO loves John Lennon. L-O-V-E-S. There are three posters of John in our bedroom. A lesser man might have reservations about another man (and obviously, a much greater, more talented man) being plastered all over the bedroom, but hey at least it’s not My Little Pony of some other girly, frilly stuff. Besides it’s not that kind of love. That would be Henry Cavill or Chris Hemsworth, but that’s a whole other can of worms.

She emailed me today telling me I needed to check out a Youtube video. So I did. And it was the video below. The GOASTT (The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) – Animals. (Warning: Video contains female nudity- tame version here.)

My first impression was this guy was just trying to imitate John. Then I realized it was Sean Lennon and his girlfriend, Charlotte Kemp Muhl (who my SO calls ‘Hempy Kempy’), and I was still skeptical. But from the little I knew of Sean’s career in music it seemed like he was always trying to step out of his father’s shadow, not hide in it. So I listened to the whole album Midnight Sun. After a couple of songs I realized that if Sean has decided to simply imitate his father to evoke nostalgia for his own personal gain, then so be it because it was damn good. But before I finished the album I knew that Sean wasn’t imitating anyone, he had simply found himself and it just so happens the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

The collaboration of Sean and Charlotte is reminiscent of his parents and evokes a sense of wonder of what they could have continued to produce if John hadn’t been murdered by a psychopath.

I’m a big fan of psychedelic music and Midnight Sun from start to finish (with the exception of one song) is the best psychedelic music I’ve heard in a long time and possibly ever. I’m a very hard-headed person when it comes to people sharing music with me. I’ve been around for three decades and I have enough music in my head for a lifetime. I like what I like and I don’t really care to stretch my comfort zone to allow in interlopers. I’ve opened myself up a lot recently, getting into The Neighbourhood’s I Love You for example, another top notch album. Maybe being so closed minded about music is the reason, but I only tend to find an album I love start to finish like once every five years. But Midnight Sun is a gem of an album. It’s not perfect, but it’s damn close for me.

I have pretty eclectic musical tastes. I like music that I know anyone within earshot would question me about. Or possibly commit me. I know the things I can listen to around my SO and the things that will make her threaten to castrate me if I don’t turn it off right now. But The GOASTT’s Midnight Sun is not an acquired taste. After one listen to the album I knew I liked it. That’s rare for me. Usually I have to listen to an album on repeat while I do other tasks like writing and it sneaks its way into my subconscious and then I wake up and realize ‘I LOVE THIS SONG!’. Other times, I can listen to an album ad nauseam and then hate myself for wasting my time. (Lulu I’m looking at you!)

If you like 60’s psychedelia I highly recommend you give Midnight Sun a listen.

9821_goastt

Leave a Reply

