Still here…

Not that you can tell, been like six months since my last entry. I’m still plugging away writing and trunking and hopefully improving my skills as I go.  I joined a local writers workshop but its more of a support group than anything constructive and I think that’s ok. If nothing else it gives me a chance to spend some time with like minded individuals that take my writing seriously and that is a really big deal. I’m still getting used to it.

I have joined an online crit group and got great feedback on The Heirloom. I also got a rejection on that piece and the editor praised the voice as being “impressively and consistently well done”. Being a period piece I think that’s a huge compliment. I know the story portion needs some work, but I’m still fairly proud of that story.

My latest story “The Drought” is without a doubt the best I’ve written so far. It’s currently being reviewed at a magazine, looks like the got past the slush readers so assuming that’s correct then that’s a compliment. I fantasize about the market buying the story but I really don’t believe it will happen, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a personal rejection. It’s the little victories.

I’ve been playing too much Minecraft recently, but I’ve made some progress in the past few days. I got a new story idea while I was out mowing the yard this past weekend and I’ve gotten a pretty decent start on it, though I’m still trying to figure out where the story is going. Based off my history I’m trying to do a bit more planning on where the story is going before I really dive int it. It can be pretty depressing to have a story just go on and on and on and have no idea where it’s going. That’s when I have a real bad habit of having my characters getting knocked out. Hey, you live and learn.

Anyways, I’m very excited about “The Drought”. I think it has a good chance at being the first story I get published. Or maybe, its the first story I feel confident enough about to actually try. Either way, I think good times are coming.

Until then, I’ll keep on writing.

Leave a Reply

